Go Back   VEX Forum > Competitions > VEX Robotics Competition > VRC Sack Attack (2012-2013 VRC Game)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #11  
Old 05-01-2012, 08:59 PM
magicode's Avatar
magicode magicode is offline
Senior Member
VEX # 4542
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 608
Images: 8
Re: official sack attack q and a

It's most definitely illegal. Think of it this way: If a robot traps you into a corner, can they say "It's your fault for not being able to lift up on sliders, and driver over me"? Obviously not, even though it's possible to design a robot to do that. Same rule applies here. If on the other hand, the robot is capable of going under the through, that might a different story.
__________________
It's not a bug, it's a feature.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-02-2012, 07:30 AM
Ephemeral_Being's Avatar
Ephemeral_Being Ephemeral_Being is offline
Senior Member
VEX # N/A
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 1,157
Images: 4
Re: official sack attack q and a

Quote:
Originally Posted by magicode View Post
It's most definitely illegal. Think of it this way: If a robot traps you into a corner, can they say "It's your fault for not being able to lift up on sliders, and driver over me"? Obviously not, even though it's possible to design a robot to do that. Same rule applies here. If on the other hand, the robot is capable of going under the through, that might a different story.
Right. I COULD build a robot that moves by spinning 12" linear slides as legs, like the spider bot design someone posted. That would be difficult to pin. However, it is still pinning to trap designs not capable of the same thing.

That sounded weird. But I think you get my point.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-02-2012, 09:24 PM
Vex Mundi's Avatar
Vex Mundi Vex Mundi is offline
Senior Member
VEX # AURA
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 534
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Vex Mundi
Re: official sack attack q and a

Quote:
Originally Posted by tabor473 View Post
My entire thing was about ruling of pinning against the trough because people can drive underneath it
That's correct. No one misunderstood you. The answer to your question is in the manual, and it was answered twice in the two posts immediately after you asked it.

The posts you were replying to were not intended to answer your question. It had been answered. To paraphrase the manual, inhibiting the movement of an opposing Robot while the opposing Robot is in contact with the trough is illegal. The fact that it is possible to build a robot that can drive under the trough is not mentioned in the rule and is irrelevant.
__________________
-Oliver | oliver.wilson@aura.org.nz || Aura Home | Our Photos | Our Videos
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-04-2012, 06:43 AM
AnotherRoboMom's Avatar
AnotherRoboMom AnotherRoboMom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 143
Images: 5
Re: official sack attack q and a

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick TYler View Post
The Game Design Committee believes it's best for you to spend a while reading the manual and understanding the game before posting questions. The official Q&A will open soon.
Please define "open soon".
Thank you.
__________________
Jenny Beatty
Co-Founder and Chief Learning Officer of NEMO (Non-Engineering Mentor Organization)
Serial Volunteer.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-04-2012, 10:03 AM
JVN's Avatar
JVN JVN is offline
VEX Robotics
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Greenville, TX
Posts: 1,284
Images: 18
Re: official sack attack q and a

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherRoboMom View Post
Please define "open soon".
Thank you.
May 15th.
http://www.vexforum.com/showthread.p...045#post295045
Sorry we didn't do a formal announcement sooner!
__________________
John Vielkind-Neun | VP of Engineering | VEX Robotics, Inc.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-06-2012, 04:42 PM
tabor473's Avatar
tabor473 tabor473 is offline
Senior Member
VEX # BNS
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 1,222
Images: 2
Send a message via Skype™ to tabor473
Re: official sack attack q and a

What about if a robot has its arm up but it is capable of driving under when its arm is down.
Do you think it would not count as pinning cause they could lower there arm.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-06-2012, 05:10 PM
magicode's Avatar
magicode magicode is offline
Senior Member
VEX # 4542
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 608
Images: 8
Re: official sack attack q and a

Quote:
Originally Posted by tabor473 View Post
What about if a robot has its arm up but it is capable of driving under when its arm is down.
Do you think it would not count as pinning cause they could lower there arm.
Now that is a valid question, and something you should ask on the 15th. Personally, I think that as long as you're not in contact with them and pinning them against the troughs, it wouldn't be considered trapping or pinning.
__________________
It's not a bug, it's a feature.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-06-2012, 05:47 PM
Ephemeral_Being's Avatar
Ephemeral_Being Ephemeral_Being is offline
Senior Member
VEX # N/A
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 1,157
Images: 4
Re: official sack attack q and a

Quote:
Originally Posted by tabor473 View Post
What about if a robot has its arm up but it is capable of driving under when its arm is down.
Do you think it would not count as pinning cause they could lower there arm.
If and only if you left the Robot room to lower its arm, you MAY have a case. However, the ability of a team to do that is so, so low, as you would have to trap the robots in a VERY specific configuration to have them stuck, but not be "pinned".
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-12-2012, 06:28 PM
chris@aura chris@aura is offline
Member
VEX # AURA
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 97
Images: 3
Re: official sack attack q and a

The pushing action could prevent the other robot from moving its arm down anyway (stuck between your robot and the trough), and it would be hard to prove that it wasn't. Basically in my opinion, if you are preventing movement of the other robot, it is pinning (or trapping) and there isn't any way to get around that using technicalities or exceptions. The rules are fairly clear on this:

Quote:
Pinning A Robot is considered to be Pinning an opposing Robot if it is inhibiting the movement of an opponent Robot while the opposing Robot is in contact with the foam playing surface and another Field Element.
Nothing about the specifics on how the pinning is carried out.
__________________
-Chris

Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:38 AM.


VEX and VEX Robotics are trademarks or service marks of Innovation First International, Inc.
Copyright © 2002-2013. All Rights Reserved. VEX Robotics, Inc. is a subsidiary of Innovation First International, Inc.
All other product names/marks of others are the property of their respective owners.