1. 5 months ago

    blatwell

    Sep 9 Event Partner Indianapolis 621A

    VRC ItZ Game Manual <SG14> As per <G3>, at the beginning of a Match, each Robot must be smaller than a volume of 18” (457.2 mm) long by 18” (457.2 mm) wide by 18” (457.2 mm) tall. Once the Match begins, Robots
    may expand, but no horizontal dimension can exceed 36” (914.4 mm) at any point during the Match .
    Minor violations of this rule that do not affect the Match will result in a warning. Match Affecting
    offenses will result in a Disqualification. T eam s that receive multiple warnings may also receive a Disqualification at the Head Referee's discretion.
    a. There is no height limit on Robot expansion.

    One of your earlier answers said "A robot's maximum size should be checked during inspection, per the VRC Robot Inspection Checklist , to reduce the number of cases that require referees to make an SG14 call."

    Does this mean that if a robot has the capability to expand beyond the 36" is is not legal or is it as the rule states, it is only illegal if the robot expands beyond 36" horizontally?

    Let me give you an example. A robot has an arm that reaches out and grabs mobile goals out of one side of the robot and pulls it into the robot. Out of the other side of the robot, it has an arm that reaches out and grabs cones and then stacks them on the mobile goal inside the robot. Eventually, the robot moves the mobile goal out of the robot and into the 20 point zone.

    If the robot were to extend out reaching for the mobile goal at the same time as it reaches out the other direction for cones, it would be outside of the 36" limit but as long as the robot does not reach out in both directions at the same time, it stays in size. Is this robot legal to play even though it has the capacity to break the rule but there is no intent to break the rule?

    So long as the robot never actually extend beyond the limit in actual match play, is this OK?

    So long as the robot never actually extend beyond the limit in actual match play, is this OK?

    Yes, this would be legal.

    Bear in mind that robots which are mechanically capable of exceeding the 36" maximum, but are limited via software or driver control, could be subject to extra referee scrutiny to ensure that they remain within the size constraints during a match. We would advise making it especially clear to referees that you are never violating the maximum size - for a robot like the one you have described, this could mean never extending both arms at the same time, waiting until one arm is fully "stowed" before extending the other, etc.

  2. 4 months ago

    VEX GDC

    Sep 22 Administrator Answer Greenville, TX

    So long as the robot never actually extend beyond the limit in actual match play, is this OK?

    Yes, this would be legal.

    Bear in mind that robots which are mechanically capable of exceeding the 36" maximum, but are limited via software or driver control, could be subject to extra referee scrutiny to ensure that they remain within the size constraints during a match. We would advise making it especially clear to referees that you are never violating the maximum size - for a robot like the one you have described, this could mean never extending both arms at the same time, waiting until one arm is fully "stowed" before extending the other, etc.

 

or Sign Up to reply!