1. 5 months ago

    I have been looking through the rule book and forum, but cannot seem to find a ruling on this situation:

    When a mobile goal has been dropped into a 5, 10, or 20 point zone and has tipped sideways so it is no longer upright, would this still be considered as a scored mobile goal?

    If this question has already been answered then would it be possible for you to link the post where this was dicussed.

    Thanks in advance!!

    Let's take a look at the definition of Scored:

    Scored – A Mobile Goal is Scored in a Goal Zone if it meets all of the following criteria:
    1. The Mobile Goal is touching the Goal Zone
    a. If a Mobile Goal is touching multiple Goal Zones it is Scored in the higher point value Goal Zone

    2. The Mobile Goal is not touching a Robot of the same color Alliance.

    3. The Mobile Goal and the Goal Zone belong to the same Alliance.

    Note 1: Only one Mobile Goal can be Scored in each 20 Point Zone.
    Note 2: If multiple Mobile Goals are in a scored position in a 20 Point Zone, the Mobile Goal with the most Cones Stacked will be the one that is Scored.
    Note 3: If a Mobile Goal is not touching a Zone, but is entirely Supported by other Scoring Objects it counts as being Scored in the highest value Scoring Zone of the Supporting Scoring Objects.

    Orientation of the Mobile Goal is not referenced in this definition. So, if the Mobile Goal satisfies all criteria for a "Scored" Goal, then yes, it would be considered Scored.

  2. 4 months ago

    VEX GDC

    Sep 22 Administrator Answer Greenville, TX

    Let's take a look at the definition of Scored:

    Scored – A Mobile Goal is Scored in a Goal Zone if it meets all of the following criteria:
    1. The Mobile Goal is touching the Goal Zone
    a. If a Mobile Goal is touching multiple Goal Zones it is Scored in the higher point value Goal Zone

    2. The Mobile Goal is not touching a Robot of the same color Alliance.

    3. The Mobile Goal and the Goal Zone belong to the same Alliance.

    Note 1: Only one Mobile Goal can be Scored in each 20 Point Zone.
    Note 2: If multiple Mobile Goals are in a scored position in a 20 Point Zone, the Mobile Goal with the most Cones Stacked will be the one that is Scored.
    Note 3: If a Mobile Goal is not touching a Zone, but is entirely Supported by other Scoring Objects it counts as being Scored in the highest value Scoring Zone of the Supporting Scoring Objects.

    Orientation of the Mobile Goal is not referenced in this definition. So, if the Mobile Goal satisfies all criteria for a "Scored" Goal, then yes, it would be considered Scored.

 

or Sign Up to reply!