1. 5 months ago

    AWH

    Sep 9 Cherry Hill East 2616J

    @reflxshn If while moving one or more goals if any part of the mobile goal leaves the mat, does this become illegal?

    @VEX GDC Yes, since this doesn't usually occur when "pushing" or "plowing", this can be used as a reasonable test to determine if a robot is "grasping" a Mobile Goal and therefore in violation of SG6.

    @[TVA]Delta_III Would it be considered legal to intentionally tip the opposing mobile goals on their side via pushing the tops of them?

    @VEX GDC There are no rules preventing this, thus it would be legal.

    Aren't these contradictory, as you cannot tip a mobile goal without making part of it leave the mat?

    You are correct - thank you for pointing this out. The answer to reflxshn's question was incorrect.

    It IS possible for part of a Mobile Goal to leave the surface of the playing field through legal pushing or plowing, such as the tipping question posed by [TVA]Delta_III. However, if the ENTIRE Mobile Goal leaves the surface of the playing field, this is a good indication that a robot has "grasped" the Mobile Goal.

    We will update the original answer to reflect this correction, and sincerely apologize for any confusion that this may have caused.

  2. 4 months ago

    VEX GDC

    Sep 22 Administrator Answer Greenville, TX
    Edited 4 months ago by Grant Cox

    You are correct - thank you for pointing this out. The answer to reflxshn's question was incorrect.

    It IS possible for part of a Mobile Goal to leave the surface of the playing field through legal pushing or plowing, such as the tipping question posed by [TVA]Delta_III. However, if the ENTIRE Mobile Goal leaves the surface of the playing field, this is a good indication that a robot has "grasped" the Mobile Goal.

    We will update the original answer to reflect this correction, and sincerely apologize for any confusion that this may have caused.

 

or Sign Up to reply!