Answered: Tipped base with stacked cones

  1. 10 months ago

    TPRMentor3018

    8 Jan 2018 Council Bluffs 3018

    We had a situation on Sat. Jan. 6th which we would like clarification on how to interpret the rules. I know that a base with stacked cones can be tipped and supported by a field element (perimeter wall) and have the cones count as scored. What if the tipped stack of cones is being supported by a robot, see attached picture. We figured the base did not count as scored as it was touched by the robot, and the top 3 cones did not count as they also were touched by the robot. However, the 9 nested cones between the mobile goal and the top 3 cones were fully nested and untouched. We counted them, but are looking for assurance that was the correct call for future tournaments. The 9 cones were not match effecting so it really didn't matter that much, but it might the next time around. Thank You for your time.

    Your picture did not attach; however, given your description, it sounds like this was the correct call. If the Cones would have been considered Scored were they not being contacted by a robot, then all Cones above (and including) the one being contacted are the only ones that are not considered Scored.

  2. VEX GDC

    12 Jan 2018 Administrator Answer Greenville, TX

    Your picture did not attach; however, given your description, it sounds like this was the correct call. If the Cones would have been considered Scored were they not being contacted by a robot, then all Cones above (and including) the one being contacted are the only ones that are not considered Scored.

 

or Sign Up to reply!