Starting Bar Clarification

  1. 6 months ago

    Doggobot

    13 Jan 2018 East Windsor, NJ, 08520 40064K

    This might be a very dumb question with a very obvious answer, but when the rules say "The robot must be touching the starting bar", does it mean in front of the bar, or behind it? It does not seem to clarify anywhere. Thanks!

    Front one.

  2. Dokkaebi

    13 Jan 2018 Answer Deal with it I like chocolate

    Front one.

  3. Doggobot

    13 Jan 2018 East Windsor, NJ, 08520 40064K

    lol thx

  4. lacsap

    13 Jan 2018 Event Partner, V5 Beta Tester Massachusetts 9791[a-z]

    @Doggobot This might be a very dumb question with a very obvious answer, but when the rules say "The robot must be touching the starting bar", does it mean in front of the bar, or behind it? It does not seem to clarify anywhere. Thanks!

    Actually, the Game Manual specifically defines the Starting Bar:

    Starting Bar – The ~1” (25.4 mm) pipe that separates the 5 Point Zone and the 10 Point Zone and also designates the location of Robots at the start of the Match as per <SG1>.

    It is unambiguous.

  5. Dokkaebi

    13 Jan 2018 Deal with it I like chocolate
    Edited 6 months ago by Dokkaebi

    And honestly why are you asking this question THIS FAR into the season??

  6. lacsap

    13 Jan 2018 Event Partner, V5 Beta Tester Massachusetts 9791[a-z]

    @Dokkaebi And honestly why are you asking this question THIS FAR into the season??

    I actually understand that there are a number of teams who have not yet realized that the Game Manual definitions and appendices are really important to fully understand the game. That is a matter of experience. (full disclosure, not all my teams understand all the definitions or their usefulness... yet!)

  7. meng

    13 Jan 2018 Singapore 8059

    Well... technically speaking, it is as Long as you are touching the bar. You can choose to start your robot behind the bar too.

  8. Looks like some of the smart alec answers above did not read the question.

    As @meng said, so long as you are touching the starting bar, that is what matters. You can touch the front, back, or top of the starting bar. It is even possible to be touching the bottom of the starting bar.

 

or Sign Up to reply!