I lost elims to a connection tower, but not how you would think.

  1. 7 weeks ago

    Kent~929S

    Dec 2 Parkton, Maryland 929S
    Edited 7 weeks ago by Kent~929S

    Now this is 99.5%
    I want to meet whoever wanted to put the tower in the presence of posts.

    5:40:37

  2. Brian_9605A

    Dec 2 MA (Southern New England) 9605A

    This is a 6 hour video. What time stamp?

  3. Deleted 7 weeks ago by Kent~929S
  4. RoboDesigners

    Dec 2 Falls Church, Virginia 2190 (former)

    Still goes to the start.

  5. Kent~929S

    Dec 2 Parkton, Maryland 929S

    @RoboDesigners Still goes to the start.

    Youtube is nice, just use the number i added i guess

  6. Baguette123

    Dec 2 Earth 2775J

    About 5:40:04

  7. meng

    Dec 2 Singapore 8059

    I am more interested to know what’s the ruling for 5:40:55 :P

  8. Kent~929S

    Dec 2 Parkton, Maryland 929S

    @meng I am more interested to know what’s the ruling for 5:40:55 :P

    Well judging from how I said I lost elims from the tip. It was not a dq, since I am the one on 929S.
    The refs said that since 929U was only intending to push, not tip, it was not a dq, and it's not like they could have reacted to the tower and stopped in time. I do think it's a fair ruling personally, but I didn't make this thread for debate. I just thought it was a funny moment.

  9. RoboDesigners

    Dec 2 Falls Church, Virginia 2190 (former)
    Edited 7 weeks ago by RoboDesigners

    (relevant rule re: unintentional tipping & how it's ref discretion:)

    <G12.b> VEX Robotics Competition Turning Point is an interactive game. Some incidental tipping, Entanglement, and damage may occur as a part of normal gameplay without violation. It will be up to the head referee’s discretion whether the interaction was incidental or intentional.

    I would contend that 929U was really treading close to the the 5 second trapping rule later in the match, but that may just be the video angle.

  10. @Kent~929S Now this is 99.5%
    I want to meet whoever wanted to put the tower in the presence of posts.

    5:40:37

    LOL wow, I've never seen that before!

    This seems like one of those instances where a replay would be perfect. 929U clearly had no intent to tip, but 929S wasn't doing anything that would put them at an unusual risk for tipping. Sure they had their lift up, but they were a pretty bottom-heavy robot.

    Am I missing something?

  11. meng

    Dec 2 Singapore 8059

    @Kent~929S Well judging from how I said I lost elims from the tip. It was not a dq, since I am the one on 929S.
    The refs said that since 929U was only intending to push, not tip, it was not a dq, and it's not like they could have reacted to the tower and stopped in time. I do think it's a fair ruling personally, but I didn't make this thread for debate. I just thought it was a funny moment.

    Naah. I am not gonna debate about it as well.
    I know decisions like these can go both ways... nothing to debate about.
    Was asking just to satisfy my curiosity :P

  12. Kent~929S

    Dec 2 Parkton, Maryland 929S

    @meng Naah. I am not gonna debate about it as well.
    I know decisions like these can go both ways... nothing to debate about.
    Was asking just to satisfy my curiosity :P

    Yep

 

or Sign Up to reply!