expanding in the non-expansion zone automatic disqualification?

  1. last week

    Taggy64

    Jan 8 Tennessee 3631C (vexettes)

    Is expanding in the non-expansion zone ( outside of the white tape) an automatic disqualification? If it is a first offense, are we supposed to get a warning? Or is it automatically a disqualification?

    Thank you!

    Remember that if there are multiple warnings, even if none of the warnings was match affecting, you could still get a DQ. (emphasis mine)

    <SG2> Robot expansion is limited once the Match begins. As per <G3>, at the beginning of a
    Match, each Robot must be smaller than a volume of 18” (457.2 mm) long by 18” (457.2 mm) wide
    by 18” (457.2 mm) tall.
    a. Once the Match begins, a Robot which is contacting the Expansion Zone may expand
    vertically with no height limit. However, once fully outside of the Expansion Zone (i.e. no
    longer contacting it), the Robot must return to a height limit of 18” (457.2 mm) tall.
    b. Once the Match begins, Robots may expand, but no horizontal dimension can exceed 36”
    (914.4 mm) at any point during the Match.
    c. As a result of this rule, Robots may not contact High Flags.
    Note: A Robot which interferes with gameplay as a result of violating this rule, such as Toggling a
    High Flag or blocking a launched Ball while outside of the Expansion Zone, will result in a
    Disqualification, whether the interference is Match Affecting or not.
    Minor violations of this rule that do not affect or interfere with the Match will result in a warning.
    Match Affecting offenses will result in a Disqualification. Teams that receive multiple warnings may
    also receive a Disqualification at the Head Referee's discretion.

  2. lacsap

    Jan 8 Event Partner, V5 Beta Tester Massachusetts 9791[a-z]

    DQs are generally given to match effecting infractions. Read carefully the Game Manual. This is spelled out in <SG2> The pertinent reference for your question:

    Minor violations of this rule that do not affect or interfere with the Match will result in a warning.
    Match Affecting offenses will result in a Disqualification. Teams that receive multiple warnings may
    also receive a Disqualification at the Head Referee's discretion.

  3. TaranMayer

    Jan 8 Arizona 6142w

    Was it match affecting? If you are in the process of moving your lift down when you move out of the zone, you are fine, but if you hit a high flag with your bot, it will be a disqualification. If you accidentally expand (not match affecting), you will get a warning, nothing else. If a non-match affecting expansion enables a match-affecting action, then that will be a disqual.

  4. Gear Geeks

    Jan 8 Event Partner, V5 Beta Tester Virginia, USA 8044

    I have a feeling it's **very** dependent on your location. This is a good question to ask in a driver's meeting to see how likely it is to happen in your area. We were in a tournament last weekend and expanding outside the expansion zone wasn't even mentioned once. Part of the reason for that is very few robots in Virginia even expand.

  5. Xenon

    Jan 9 Long Beach, California 99999V

    depends on a lot of things. If you did so on purpose, to be able to do things you normally couldn't do, and especially if it was match affecting, then yes, it could be a DQ. but if it was just accidentally raising your lift above 18" and then correcting your error without doing anything, it should just be a warning. but then, It also depends on the ref, like @Gear Geeks said.

  6. Taggy64

    Jan 9 Tennessee 3631C (vexettes)

    oh ok thank you so much

  7. sankeydd

    Jan 9 Event Partner Answer
    Edited last week by sankeydd

    Remember that if there are multiple warnings, even if none of the warnings was match affecting, you could still get a DQ. (emphasis mine)

    <SG2> Robot expansion is limited once the Match begins. As per <G3>, at the beginning of a
    Match, each Robot must be smaller than a volume of 18” (457.2 mm) long by 18” (457.2 mm) wide
    by 18” (457.2 mm) tall.
    a. Once the Match begins, a Robot which is contacting the Expansion Zone may expand
    vertically with no height limit. However, once fully outside of the Expansion Zone (i.e. no
    longer contacting it), the Robot must return to a height limit of 18” (457.2 mm) tall.
    b. Once the Match begins, Robots may expand, but no horizontal dimension can exceed 36”
    (914.4 mm) at any point during the Match.
    c. As a result of this rule, Robots may not contact High Flags.
    Note: A Robot which interferes with gameplay as a result of violating this rule, such as Toggling a
    High Flag or blocking a launched Ball while outside of the Expansion Zone, will result in a
    Disqualification, whether the interference is Match Affecting or not.
    Minor violations of this rule that do not affect or interfere with the Match will result in a warning.
    Match Affecting offenses will result in a Disqualification. Teams that receive multiple warnings may
    also receive a Disqualification at the Head Referee's discretion.

 

or Sign Up to reply!