12" shafts

I have seen several posts of people asking about using 12" inch shafts from middle/high school VEX on VEX IQ bots.

My guess is that you want to connect 2 motors on the same shaft to have them move together at the same time. If that is the case, we got the two biggest shafts we found on the VEX IQ kit, we firmly secured one of them in one motor, then we secured the other one to the other motor and we use a piece that kinda looks like an spiral and joined the two shafts by placing it between the two shafts.

Kaverman,

We appreciate your feedback on this, and will take this into consideration for the future.

For non-competition uses, the VEX EDR 12" shaft is fully compatible with the VEX IQ system.

Regards,

• Art

That spiral looking thing is probably a worm gear from the Gear Kit. Love all the parts that come with the kits… :wink:

Yes it is the worm gear… sorry my English ain’t that great and I’m not an engineer either… just a dad helping out the kids. :slight_smile:

Not a problem, Kaverman. I’m not an engineer either, just someone having a blast with the robotics kits. I so wanted to get into this kind of stuff since I was a kid, now I can afford it a little better… LoL.

Yeah, when I was a kid my dad never had any of this stuff for me around. My first kit was a Lego Mindstorm.

I can’t wait for next year… my son will be middle school next year… can’t wait to see him working with metal robots and burning some motors.

Kaverman,