2 wheel drive vs. 4 wheel drive

This year we started off with a 4 wheel drive base(1 motor on every wheel). Our sister team (9551 A) started off with a 2 wheel drive base. After the first competition we saw that the 2 wheel drive base turned a hole lot faster. So my team decided to change ours to a 2 wheel drive(With 4 motors). Lately we had a problem were the wheels we had power going to we were spinning out when we lift out 4 bar off the ground about 5 inches or so(It was rear wheel drive). We think we solved the problem but I wanted to know what are you guys using and what might be better.

A two wheel drive is going to be a whole lot less stable, yes? I don’t know I’ve never built one before. Do you have some sort of stabilization method?

In terms of motor configurations for drives, I have always found that a 5 motor (one on each wheel with a middle motor and wheel) H-Drive has never done me wrong, high speed strafing and movement and a convenient design to base more intake and management mechanisms off. I have never found that I have higher turning speeds with a two wheel base, though to increase speed I have always found an increased internal gearing works to as fast as I can conceivably drive (depending on the game). A solution to your problem might just be to employ a heaver base if you are having issues with the base moving or becoming unstable.

X-Drives might also be something you can looking into in the future, as they only require 4 motors and are rather powerful, though sometimes the lack of torque can be an annoyance.

@MayorMonty We think we solved our problem by winding our base. The distance between wheels and we think this solved our problem.

@EvolvingJon We actually are using a 5 motor H-Drive.