2009 Houston VEX

The 2009 Houston VEX competition is this Saturday, December 5 at Pearland High School. Thanks to Andrew Lynch and team 2587 for hosting the event. With close to 40 teams there, including last years winners (2587a) and the Robonauts (118), it should be a great event.

The event has it’s own website here. I’m sure that the results will be posted there.

It been 39 weeks since our team has been on the competition floor, and we are really anxious to get started in this year’s Clean Sweep competition.

Good luck to all the teams, and hope to see you there.

Not to mention the bright yellow team that won both Texas tournaments last year…:wink:

118? Always great to see more FRC teams. :slight_smile:

There will be a total of 9 FRC teams at the Houston VEX contest. Pretty cool. :slight_smile:

I am going to try and set up a web cam for broadcast. I have never done this before. If there are any suggestions, please let me know. I would like for it to work well for all to see.

If we can get it set up Friday, I will post the site that it will be on, that night in this thread.

www.ustream.tv seems good for web casting.

There is this foreign white substance falling from the sky. We from the deep south don’t recognize this. It has caused the city to almost shut down, including cancelling our contest. Can anyone help us out by letting us know what this is, and what to do about it???

[ATTACH]2599[/ATTACH]
DSC_3296.jpg

You canceled a tournament TOMORROW because of unidentified white stuff TODAY? Not only do you all talk funny, but you panic pretty quick, dontcha?

I think your team is cursed. Will you ever get to play in a tournament again?

(Full disclosure, the organizers of our local FTC tournament last year delayed the start by two hours because four inches of snow fell overnight.)

(Did you know that the city of Seattle historically only gets 3" more snow per year than Houston?)