3 ball ruling

If there was a non-match affecting 3 ball ruling, but the a ball got stuck via a opponent shot rebound, how would that be ruled? According to SG4, “Minor violations of this rule that do not affect the Match will result in a warning. Match Affecting offenses will result in a Disqualification. Teams that receive multiple warnings may also receive a Disqualification at the Head Referee’s discretion.”
I’m asking this because our bot just got DQ’ed in this situation.

It’s hard to assess specifics like that without video. But there is also this rule if it was caused by an opponent:

Now, it doesn’t sound like it was intentional, so things are murkier.

hmm… thats a toughie, something to ask in driver meeting. my advice, build your robot so that balls can’t get stuck.

I think that the best interpretation of this generally is this: If you have a ball stuck in your robot, you can only pick up one ball at a time. This is because the second ball you pick up ends up being the third ball which your robot is controlling. Because you likely then use that “third” ball to score, it does become a match effecting offense

We accidentally picked up three balls but one of them was jammed in our flywheel so we couldn’t drop or shoot any of them. The ref decided it was fine because the third ball was preventing us from using any balls at all.

This could be an issue if in the hypothetical case that the other alliance had the opportunity to score by shooting a ball, but was denied doing so because you possessed all the remaining balls… hypothetical situations are just that.

I should have mentioned it but part of that decision was that the other alliance couldn’t shoot balls. (edit: as in they didn’t have any ball shooter mechanism)

I figured your referee had good reasons to roll with it.