Did anyone else run into getting DQ’d with having 3 discs in the robot and then driving over one when shooting? A team I sponsor has had their allianced partner in the round of 16 been DQ for shooting when the ref said the were in possession of 4 discs. This has happened with the same ref at 4 different tournaments during the 1rst round. The claim here is 3 in the robot and driving over or moving a disk on the field is considered the 4th disc possession when shooting? Does anyone know where this is called out or discussed? The team in question is getting discouraged and some of the other teams getting DQ’d do to this has already quit competition. Its sad because they cannont get there coach to get clarity on the rule.
Search the manual for possession. Assess what the rule says. Be prepared to defend your position if a referee declares you are in possession of more than 3 discs and you disagree.
Possession, as per SG7, is a disc which is being controlled by a robot in such a way that if the robot changes direction, the disk changes direction as well. Plowing discs with a flat portion of the bot is not considered possession, however, using a concave portion or having a disc under the bot would be considered as possession.
Well, there is the rub, a disk that is moved while shooting is being called possession, plowing, or otherwise. Still possession is control, straddling a disk is not control, intakes off will still plow the disc. Seems silly to me since a disk maybe in the optimum spot for a shot. Unfortunately, vex has built a game with too many rules left up to referee discretion. Sad since the team has to repair the robot after every match here. Cannot straddle a disc but you can ram you opponent relentlessly until they break. Seem the games have gone downhill the past few years in terms of clear and consistent rules.
This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.