3 motor 200 rpm dr4b?

Is it possible to make a 3 motor dr4b with 200 rpm v5? how would this compare to the lifing ability of two motor 100 rpm?

How would you make it go at 200 rpm.

Sorry I am new to this.

There are 3 motor gearbox cartridges for the V5 smart motor (on this page): 100, 200 and 600 RPM. These correspond to the (approximate) maximum speed of the motor with that gearing. Note that a faster gearing means proportionally less torque; a 100 RPM motor will have twice the torque of a 200 RPM motor, and six times the torque of a 600 RPM motor.

3 Likes

Thanks now I understand

Yes, it is possible, but some gearing and extra structure will be needed to mount the 3rd motor.
It will be I believe 0.75 times as powerful as a two motor 100 rpm.

I don’t see why you would, anyways. Unless you don’t have torque cartridges, that is. Using 3 motors for the same (or less, as pointed out by @Railgunawesome) power isn’t worth it. If you don’t have torque cartridges, I get it, but otherwise I wouldn’t.

1 Like

so 3 100 rpm motors is better?

Yes, but 2 should be plenty. I have a 2 motor, 100 cartridge DR4B that I’m working on. With proper gear ratios and rubber bands, 2 torque motors should be more than enough.

1 Like

Im just worried that 2 wont be able to lift 7 cubes, a tray, a tilter, and intake, and a claw

You shouldnt have to lift 7 cubes, you should only have 2 or 3 in the tray when lifting. Remember that a tray tilter will most of the time, function like a normal tray. That’ll already shave a good 4, 5 pounds off the load

2 Likes

The same things which were green red and blue which you though were motors.

but im going for stacks of 14 in the goal…