all balls that meet the definition of scored are counted.
Scored - A Ball status. A Ball is considered Scored in a Goal if it is not touching a Robot of the same
color as the Ball and meets all of the following criteria.
• The Ball is fully or partially within the outer edge of the Goal.
• The Ball is fully below the upper edge of the Goal.
• The Ball is not contacting the foam tiles outside of the Goal
so yes, you can have more than 3 balls scored if you cram multiple balls into the bottom like you have done here. and no, balls that protrude above the top of the goal do not count as scored, and so do not count towards ownership.
You’ll find the second example scored as “four balls” by many (most?) referees, too. Sort of “benefit of the doubt goes to the score” situation, combined with a desire to score a match quickly, without having to put a straightedge across the goal to check. Something “obviously” too high won’t be counted, of course.
For the corner goal you are required to have a standoff or a ziptie to prevent the ball from going into the corner
G19 states that:
As per the May 25th Game Manual Update, Option A: (1x) 4” Standoff (276-1021) or Option B: (2x) 11” Zipties (275-0125) are added to the four corner Goals to aid in proper function of the Goal. One of these options will be required for official match play, with option A being preferred.
So the ball at the back should not be able to go to the back and would not count because the field is set up incorrectly
It is true that there would be a ziptie or standoff in the way of the corner goal, so while that exact score should not be counted, we’ve still crammed 3-4 balls into the bottom before even with the backing and similar scores will be counted.