6th Grade EDR Competition

This is my first year coaching Robotics, and the previous coach said that 6th graders are not allowed to compete in EDR competitions. She said that 6th graders are not allowed to be in the pit or to control the robot when the game is going on.

The Game Manual defines Middle School and High School competitors as follows:
• Middle School Student – A Student enrolled in grade 8 or lower, or enrolled in grade 9 in a school which includes grade 8, but not grade 10.
• High School Student – Any eligible Student that is not a Middle School Student

Source: https://content.vexrobotics.com/docs/vrc-inthezone/VRC-InTheZone-GameManual-20170817.pdf

To me this means that 6th graders would qualify as Middle School students and could compete on either a Middle School or High School team, with no limitation on controlling the robot or being in the pit. Is there an interpretation or clause that I am missing about a minimum grade or age?

Thank you,
Anthony Machniak
VRC-InTheZone-GameManual-20170817.pdf (2.04 MB)

I’m like 99.9999999% sure that 6th graders can compete because some of our team competed as a 6th grader a few years ago and no one said anything about it not being allowed.

That could be her rule or a school rule, but it certainly isnt a Vex rule. Our first year, we had 5th graders competing on a middle school team.

Although, I get a hoot when I get a delivery of robotics parts and the box says 14 and older!

I’ve seen very young people competing, and younger people assisting (loading balls or cubes or whatever the game objects of the year are). 6th graders can definitely compete, per VEX rules.