A nubie needs HELP with gearing

I believe this is something fairly simple, but I am just a novice & are having trouble figuring this out. Hers is my problem. I have 2 plates horizontal and parallel to each other, approximately 6" apart. They share a common pivot point equal distant from the top & bottom as well as left to right. What I’m trying to attempt is to have is to top plate rotate the same degree as the bottom except opposite. In other words. Using the right side as an example, If the lower right plate angles down 10 deg. the top right plate will rotate 10 deg. up. If anyone could help me using gears to have these plates pivot in equal amounts in opposite positive directions. ANY and all help and comments will greatly be appreciated. Thank You. Jerome.

0 Likes

Gears. You can use gears. Look up double-reverse 4-bar in this forum. They do what you are looking for.

0 Likes

Different rotation about a common axle, is what I’m taking away? Fasten one to a gear with green inserts, and the other to a sprocket with green inserts (so the gear and sprocket are free to spin on the shaft). Put another axle nearby with an identical gear and sprocket, but this time with the axle gripping inserts. Mesh the gears together, chain the sprockets together, and bam, 1:1 reversal with a common pivot. There’s probably better ways to do it, but that’s the quick and dirty way.

1 Like

Just saw the reply and trying to understand the concept that you described. Confused about the green inserts?
Thank you for the response.

0 Likes

Will do.
Appreciate you taking the time to help.
Thank you again.

0 Likes