Answered: A quick <SG4> question

Hi Karthik. I didn’t think I would be back again already, but I am.

Lifting the robot so that it is entirely off the ground is legal as part of repositioning (for example to allow an autonomous routine to run without moving the robot) despite the fact that <SG4> says the robot must be “in contact with their own Alliance Starting Tile”. This has been established by previous Q+A, including this one and this one.

My question now is: How high are teams allowed to lift their robots above the starting tile? If a team lifts their robot to allow their partner to drive underneath, is this legal?

Thanks Karthik.

Don’t worry, I fully expected you to be back.

There is no restriction on how high a team may lift their Robot during legal repositioning as per <SG4>.