Answered: Accidental possession during autonomous

The rule states that not more than 3 bucky balls may be possessed at once, and possessed is defined as herding. I would like to ask what if during autonomous, I have 3 bucky balls in the robot already, then I drive over the bump, knocking a few more bucky balls into the middle zone. Technically that would be possessing more than 3. What will happen?

We ask you to please thoroughly read the VEX Toss Up Game Manual and to please review the Q&A Usage Guidelines before posting in this forum. Specifically, please quote the rule or definition that your question is referring to.

Let’s take a look at the definition of Possessing from the VEX Toss Up Game Manual. I’ve bolded some text for emphasis:

What you have described is not possessing, rather it is accidental herding. It would not be penalized. This rule applies the same way both during the Autonomous and Driver Controlled Periods.