Answered: Additional Clarification of SG9


I have seen a few posts and videos of dump bots scoring from underneth and the sides of the trough. Then covering the trough from the side. Our question comes from a situation we have seen in a match.

Is it allowed for the dumping mechanism covering the trough on the robot to apply pressure to the trough to keep other robots from moving it? In fact lifiting a portion of the robot off the ground when it is covering the trough.

<SG9> Robots may not intentionally grasp, grapple or attach to any Field Elements. Strategies with mechanisms that react against multiple sides of a field element in an effort to latch onto said field element are prohibited. (See figures 8-10) The intent of this rule is to prevent teams from both unintentionally damaging the field, and from anchoring themselves to the field. Violations of this rule will result in a Disqualification.

From our understanding since the trough is supporting part of the robots weight this is not allowed. Can you please clear this up for us.

Crude picture attached:



Tiki Tech

If a Robot is intentionally supporting part of its weight on the trough, it is at a risk of damaging the field and could be called for violating <SG9>. Any efforts to hang off the trough are not permitted.

Glad to have this verified for our future tournaments.

Thanks for your quick reply!

See you at the world championships!


You’re welcome!