Answered: Autonomous Aligning Aids

Would it be against the rules to use a non-vex part tool in order to properly align a robot before a match? An example of this would be a cardboard cut out that fits perfectly into the angle formed between the starting bar and the field wall. This piece of cardboard would have an 18x18x18 square cut out where the robot is put. The team removes this cardboard before a match starts. I don’t see why it would be illegal, but i still want to confirm. Thanks!

While not illegal, please be cognizant of Rule <G7>a, which states:

The violation of this rule is subject to referee discretion at your particular event.