Karthik
December 16, 2011, 10:54am
2
Owen:
Could a team have a part of their robot that could detach at the beginning of autonomous, but still be attached by a wire, rope, or chain? It would then re-attach at the end of autonomous so there would be no risk of entanglement.
No, there would still be a risk of entanglement during the autonomous period, thus this would not be allowed under any circumstances as per <R3c>.
Owen:
Could a team manipulate sensors like potentiometers or touch sensors to drive a robot during autonomous, using them like a makeshift controller?
Thanks in advance.
Yes, but the keep the following things in mind:
This sensors must be on the robot, not any sort of remote device
Make sure you are not breaking another rules, especially <R3c> (quoted above)
Make sure you are staying within the restrictions and intent outlined in <SG5> (quoted below)
The idea of building a controller that is attached by a tether is strictly prohibited.
<SG5> During the Autonomous Period, Drivers and Coaches may handle their own Robot while the Robot is in contact with their own Alliance Starting Tile. During contact with the Robot, the Drivers or Coaches may not intentionally manipulate or modify the position of any Scoring Objects (aside from any which are being loaded into the Robot), either by direct hand contact or indirect contact via the Robot. Drivers or Coaches also may not change the configuration of the Robot other than in the act of fixing the Robot (i.e. it is okay to reposition the robot relative to the field, but it is not okay to manually lift up the Robot’s arm).
The intent of this rule is to allow teams to fix Robots that are unable to move, to load Match Loads into the Robot, to reposition and/or reorient Robots, and to activate additional autonomous modes by interacting with the Robot via sensors or buttons.
The intent of this rule is not to allow teams to manipulate their Robot in such a way that they are controlling the Robot via human contact or creating motions that lead to scoring.
Violations of this rule will result in warning for the first offense. Subsequent offenses or an egregious first offense will result in a Disqualification.
Owen
December 16, 2011, 12:11pm
3
Thank you Karthik!
I have a few follow up questions:
Does <R3c> apply during the skills challenge as there are no other robots on the field to entangle?
If the “controller” maintained contact with the floor tile during the match would this be legal?
Is this a rule stated in the VEX Gateway Manual?
Does this ruling make this idea illegal in any case?
What is the difference between a “controller” and just pressing buttons/interacting with sensors?
Is any form of this allowed or should we cease pursuing it?
Thanks,
Owen
Karthik
December 16, 2011, 1:01pm
4
Owen:
Thank you Karthik!
I have a few follow up questions:
Does <R3c> apply during the skills challenge as there are no other robots on the field to entangle?
If the “controller” maintained contact with the floor tile during the match would this be legal?
Despite the single robot nature of the Skills challenge, the entanglement rules still apply.
Yes, the concept of having a device connected via tether to the robot is a violation of <R3c>, quoted above.
Nothing at all. The part that I was referring to that is prohibited is the use of the tether. If you were to put this “controller” directly on the robot it would be legal.
You should cease pursuing any device that involves a tether. Using a multitude of buttons and switches on the robot is allowed and encouraged.
Owen
December 17, 2011, 7:36am
5
Okay, thanks for clearing that up.