Answered: Autonomous question

  1. Could a team have a part of their robot that could detach at the beginning of autonomous, but still be attached by a wire, rope, or chain? It would then re-attach at the end of autonomous so there would be no risk of entanglement.

  2. Could a team manipulate sensors like potentiometers or touch sensors to drive a robot during autonomous, using them like a makeshift controller?

Thanks in advance.

No, there would still be a risk of entanglement during the autonomous period, thus this would not be allowed under any circumstances as per <R3c>.

Yes, but the keep the following things in mind:

  • This sensors must be on the robot, not any sort of remote device
  • Make sure you are not breaking another rules, especially <R3c> (quoted above)
  • Make sure you are staying within the restrictions and intent outlined in <SG5> (quoted below)

The idea of building a controller that is attached by a tether is strictly prohibited.

Thank you Karthik!
I have a few follow up questions:

Does <R3c> apply during the skills challenge as there are no other robots on the field to entangle?

If the “controller” maintained contact with the floor tile during the match would this be legal?

Is this a rule stated in the VEX Gateway Manual?

Does this ruling make this idea illegal in any case?

What is the difference between a “controller” and just pressing buttons/interacting with sensors?

Is any form of this allowed or should we cease pursuing it?


Despite the single robot nature of the Skills challenge, the entanglement rules still apply.

Yes, the concept of having a device connected via tether to the robot is a violation of <R3c>, quoted above.

Nothing at all. The part that I was referring to that is prohibited is the use of the tether. If you were to put this “controller” directly on the robot it would be legal.

You should cease pursuing any device that involves a tether. Using a multitude of buttons and switches on the robot is allowed and encouraged.

Okay, thanks for clearing that up.

You’re welcome.