Answered: Autonomous strategy/rule

Is it legal to reposition your robot repeatedly during autonomous, and is it legal to only put in (say) one sphere in the robot, then later in autonomous put a second preload in the robot? And, is it illigal to reposition your robot after autonomous?

Yes, provided you stay within the rules specified in <SG5> of the VEX Gateway Game Manual.

Yes, but once again you must stay fully within rule <SG8> along with all other Game Rules.

Not necessarily. There are allowances for the handling of Robots after the Autonomous Period specified in <SG6>. Please note, <SG6> allows for teams to make repairs to Robots which were unable to move at the start of the Match. It is not the intent to allow teams to reposition Robots for strategic purposes.