Is it legal to reposition your robot if you are touching field objects (balls and barrels)? For example, if my robot was inside tile, but there is objects in my tile. Can I still position it?
Let’s take a look at the
VEX Gateway Game Manual.
<SG5> During the Autonomous Period, Drivers and Coaches may handle their own Robot while the Robot is in contact with their own Alliance Starting Tile.
During contact with the Robot, the Drivers or Coaches may not intentionally manipulate or modify the position of any Scoring Objects (aside from any which are being loaded into the Robot), either by direct hand contact or indirect contact via the Robot. Drivers or Coaches also may not change the configuration of the Robot other than in the act of fixing the Robot (i.e. it is okay to reposition the robot relative to the field, but it is not okay to manually lift up the Robot’s arm).
The intent of this rule is to allow teams to fix Robots that are unable to move, to load Match Loads into the Robot, to reposition and/or reorient Robots, and to activate additional autonomous modes by interacting with the Robot via sensors or buttons.
The intent of this rule is not to allow teams to manipulate their Robot in such a way that they are controlling the Robot via human contact or creating motions that lead to scoring.
Violations of this rule will result in warning for the first offense. Subsequent offenses or an egregious first offense will result in a Disqualification.
Thus, you may manipulate your Robot while there are Scoring Objects on the Alliance Starting Tile, however you may not manipulate or modify the position of any of these Scoring Objects.
Are you able to position your robot to score into a goal?
Yes, this is legal. However, please remember that your Robot must be doing the scoring, not the driver. Please see the following Q&A entry for more details.
One more question.
When you mean position. Am im able to position my robot right over the post to score.
Please carefully read the answer to your previous question, including all quoted rules. Teams are allowed to reposition and reorient robots during the Autonomous Period as per <SG5> quoted above. There is no restriction against positioning the robot over top of a Goal. However, please make sure you have read the entire rule, as there are restrictions against changing the configuration of the robot. (e.g. You cannot lift the Robot’s arm.)