Answered: Ball supported between robot and wall/goal and not touching ground

Hi Karthik,
Today at a competition there was a dispute over the ruling you gave in this thread.

The situation was as depicted in the attached images.

In the referenced thread, you said this:

In response to 1412E’s question of:

One side of the dispute interpreted this as the depicted situation having the ball still scored. The other side believed that the ball had to be touching the ground to count.

Could you clarify?


Let’s once again take a look at the definition of Scored. I’ve bolded some text for emphasis.

Now to make this clear, let’s take a look at the definition of the Goal Zone and Middle Zone.

In summary, yes, any Scoring Object must be touching the Zone to be considered Scored.

Thank you for clearing this up. The response to the referenced thread had just not been entirely clear, so we wanted to check.

Your welcome.

1 Like