Answered: Catapults and <S1>

Hi Karthik,

This question relates to an event that happened at our scrimmage this weekend. A team launched a (blue) large ball from the hanging zone into the goal zone. It hit a robot that had fallen over in the goal zone, and burst. (The edge that the ball hit was an unmodified piece of VEX steel, so it wasn’t sharp).

The relevant rule is:

The rules clearly allow for a disqualification in this circumstance, although the phrase “may be disqualified” leaves that decision to the referee. The team was disqualified, in part because we have a shortage of large balls and would like teams not to take risks with them (they are very prone to damage, especially the red ones and especially when inflated to regulation size).

The reasons we feel this is controversial are:

  • Many teams have been using similar catapults, both in New Zealand and internationally, for some time. Thus disqualifying a team for popping a ball while using a catapult penalises them for being unlucky more than it penalises them for being careless.
  • Toss Up appears to be intended to encourage the building of catapults. Thus disqualifying a team for popping a ball while using a catapult penalises them for playing the game as intended.

I’m not asking for a ruling on this specific event. My questions are:

  • If a team catapults a large ball over a significant distance, for example between the hanging and goal zones, and it impacts another robot and bursts, should the team throwing the large ball be disqualified? At Worlds, will they be disqualified?
  • If a team catapults a large ball over a significant distance, for example between the hanging and goal zones, and it impacts a field element or scoring object and bursts, should the team be disqualified? At Worlds, will they be disqualified?

Our Nationals run from the 1st to the 2nd of March, so an answer this week would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Oliver Wilson

Absolutely not. If anything the Robot that contacted the Large Ball causing it to pop should be inspected for sharp edges.

Absolutely not.