Answered: Clarification needed for PSC3

My kids want to do a programming skills run that worries me. First, the robot runs off their starting tile and scores some points, then it returns to their starting tile and stops. Next, they interact with the robot by repositioning it completely on their starting tile and then they line up its gripper so it is touching the skyrise peg in the autoloader. Then they push a button and the claw grips it, the arm raises up, pulls the skyrise peg out of the autoloader and then stops. Then they reposition the robot for a second time so the skyrise peg is over the skyrise base. They push a button and the peg drops into the base. End of story.

My main concern is that their gripper is touching the skyrise peg in its autoloader during their first interaction. PSC3 says they can not “manipulate or modify the position of any Scoring Objects relative to the Robot’s overall system” but I don’t know if touching the skyrise peg actually counts as a manipulation or modification of position. So is touching it like that legal?

Would their program be legal if they are NOT touching the skyrise peg but are merely almost touching it before they push the button that commands the robot to then grab the peg?

The routine that you’ve described is legal, provided no other rules are violated in the process.

Thank you! :slight_smile:

You’re welcome!