A robot carries a few BuckyBalls and a Large Ball. It goes to score in one of the 24" Goals, stashing the BuckyBalls. While stashing the BuckyBalls, the Large Ball is ejected from the robot and it leaves the field. This is intentional - the plan is to stash the BuckyBalls and remove the large ball from the field so that it is returned to the Goal Zone. It is basically the most efficient way for the robot to stash the BuckyBalls and score the Large Ball in the Goal Zone, rather than stashing the BuckyBalls and then scoring the Large Ball, or vice versa, in two different actions.
The rule says it’s legal (“Teams may not intentionally remove Scoring Objects from the scoring field, while not in the process of Stashing or removing Stashed Scoring Objects.”), however I would have thought this would be against the intent of the rule. Can you clarify this please?
This would not be legal. The Robot is question is not attempting to Stash the Large ball. This rule exception to the rule was created so teams who trying to Stash or remove Stashed objects don’t get penalized if their intentional actions lead to Balls leaving the field. In the situation you described, the team is not trying to Stash the Large Ball, hence they are not covered by this exception.