Answered: Clarification of Rule R1

So my kids had a question that I couldn’t answer. Can a team switch drive motors between skills and qualifiers? I was reading R1 but I can see a case for yes and no in the rule text.

Motors are considered part of Subsystem 2. Changing individual motors would not constitute an entire Subsystem 2 replacement, and would thus be legal. Performing an entire Subsystem 2 replacement (new motors, Cortex, wiring, etc) would be considered building a second “Robot” and thus no longer be legal.