Answered: Clarification on duration of Rule <G11a>

Can I have a clarification if this rule ONLY applies when the robot is currently expanded, or if it applies to any robot that has expanded at any point during the match? I thought the wording was a little ambiguous.

Also, if it is only when the robot is currently expanded, is it possible to give some kind of outline of when you would consider a robot “retracted”, and thus, back under the protection of <G11>?


It only applies when the robot is expanded and in the process of obstructing the field. This rule removes <G11> protections when an opposing robot is trying to pass through the obstruction created by the obstructing robot.

The best guideline we can provide is that the protections of <G11> would return once the robot is no longer obstructing the field.