Answered: Clarification on <G12> Slinging Stars

If the method that a robot uses is to shoot stars (as opposed to dumping them over the fence), with respect to <G12>, what happens if a slung star hits a tall robot (like a dumper or a wallbot) and knocks it over? How can intent be determined (intentional/accident)? The strategy of slinging a star is not to intentionally knock robots over, but if a team knocks over an opposing robot as a result of employing that strategy can it be interpreted as “intentional?”

Based on " In the case where referees are forced to make a judgment call on interaction between a defensive and offensive Robot, the referees will err on the side of the offensive Robot," it seems that if a slung star (from an offensive robot) knocks over a wallbot (a defensive robot) then the offensive robot would not be penalized.

<G12> Strategies aimed solely at the destruction, damage, tipping over, or Entanglement of Robots are not part of the ethos of the VEX Robotics Competition and are not allowed. However, VEX Starstruck is an interactive game. Some incidental tipping, Entanglement, and damage may occur as a part of normal game play. If the tipping, Entanglement, or damage is ruled to be intentional or egregious, the offending team may be disqualified from that Match. Repeated offenses could result in a team being Disqualified from the remainder of the competition.
VEX Robotics Competition Starstruck is intended to be an offensive game. Teams that partake in solely defensive strategies will undergo extra scrutiny in regard to <G12>. In the case where referees are forced to make a judgment call on interaction between a defensive and offensive Robot, the referees will err on the side of the offensive Robot.
A team is responsible for the actions of its Robot at all times, including the Autonomous Period. This goes for teams that are driving recklessly and potentially causing damage, but also goes for teams that drive around with a small wheel base. A team should design its Robot such that it is not easily tipped over or damaged by minor contact.

What you have described has not violated any rules. We expect Robots to throw Scoring Objects, and sometimes Robots will be damaged or tipped by these actions.

What would be illegal, is a Robot intentionally throwing Scoring Objects at a Robot that is in the process of Hanging. We do not want Robots trying to knock opposing Robots off the Hanging Bar.

Yes, exactly.