Answered: Clarification on <G12>

In your answer to this question you state “The blue robot in these images is clearly undergoing a solely defensive strategy. As a result, it does not have the “protection” against destructive maneuvers that <G12> generally offers to offensive robots.” but in this question you state “A Robot which intentionally drives over an opponent, resulting in the opponent being damaged or entangled, would be considered a violation of <G12>.” in reference to an offensive robot interacting with a robot that is implementing a purely defensive strategy in its opponent’s goal zone.

There have been prior years where, under certain circumstances, the rules clearly state that the defensive robot “will not be protected under <G12>” but that wording does not seem to appear in this year’s manual. An example would be <G12> in Skyrise where it says

"a. Robots that have expanded horizontally in an effort to obstruct the field will undergo even more scrutiny under <G12>, and will not be protected under <G12>. e.g. If you choose to undertake this type of strategy, your robot should be built to withstand vigorous interaction.

i. Furthermore, teams that undertake this type of obstructive strategy would not be
protected by <SG3>. e.g. There is no penalty for pinning a “wall-bot”. " as part of <G12>.

Since this sort of language is absent from the manual this year and based on your most recent of the two Q&A answers listed above, does the cage bot have the protection of <G12> or are we allowed to do whatever it takes to get the mobile goals even if it will tip or damage the cage bot?

A Robot which is encompassing its opponent’s Mobile Goal(s) will not generally have the “protection” against harsh maneuvers that <G12> generally offers to offensive robots. Teams who choose to undergo this strategy should be prepared for offensive robots to attempt to retrieve them.

Please see this Q&A post for more details.