Answered: Clarification on R18

<R18> Pneumatic devices may only be charged to a maximum of 100 psi. Teams may only use a maximum
of two (2) legal VEX pneumatic air reservoirs on a Robot.
 The intent of this rule is to limit teams to the air pressure stored in two reservoir tanks, as well as the normal working air pressure contained in their pneumatic cylinders and tubing on the robot. Teams may not use other elements (e.g. surgical tubing) for the purposes of storing air pressure. Teams who use cylinders and additional pneumatic tubing for no purpose other than additional storage are in violation of the spirit of this rule and will fail inspection.

Piston and tubing for the sole purpose of storing air is illegal but normal working pressure is legal.

Would it be legal for a robot to have a pressurized piston and a reasonable amount of tubing that releases its air to activate a mechanism like deploying an intake. This technique has been used by teams in the past and isn’t designed to be used “for no purpose other than additional storage”. This piston wouldn’t be attached to an air tank but no additional storage is being used compared to if it was attached to an air tank.

Thanks :slight_smile:

No, this is not legal. If you need air for a piston, it will need to be attached to an air tank.

Does this also mean that pistons can not be pressurized before the match? This technique only gives 1 total actuation just like pressurized pistons would have for free.

Thanks for the clarification :slight_smile:

You can still pressurize your pistons before the match.

Thanks for the quick reply :slight_smile:

You’re welcome!

1 Like