Answered: Clarification on <S2>

Rule <S2> reads:

"If a Robot goes completely out-of-bounds (outside the playing field), it will be disabled for the remainder of the Match.

Note: The intent is NOT to penalize Robots for having mechanisms that inadvertently cross the field border during normal game play"

Would I be correct in assuming that the term “outside the playing field” refers to “outside the 12’x12’ field perimeter?” The “playing field” is considered to extend infinitely upward just like the rules for scoring in troughs in Sack Attack, correct? I ask because robots will find themselves above the foam tiles if they are high hanging, and I don’t want there to be any confusion as to the fact that the rule only implies to the X and Y planes, not the Z.

Yes, this is correct.