Answered: Clarification on SG14 on grappling

Would this be be considered grappling? The robot can be easily removed by moving it to the right (with reference to the picture attached)
I understand that elevation will not be legal in this case, but my robot would be in this configuration during the match. I appreciate the clarification on the definition, thanks :slight_smile:

Screen Shot 2015-06-20 at 12.26.12 AM.jpg

Although it’s impossible to issue a blanket ruling based on a basic image such as this one, it does appear that this would be considered to be grappling. The depicted mechanism is reacting against multiple sides of a Field Element.

Alright thanks for the clarification.
So from my understanding, you cannot interact with multiple sides of the field, but what if there was a large gap between the top of the perimeter and the robot part, but the mechanism is still pressing onto the outside of the perimeter in such a way that it only has one point of contact instead of two?

This appears to be legal as per <SG14>, however it’s impossible to be for sure just based on this description. Please remember, the field perimeter was not designed to support the weight of a Robot. Any interaction which applies a force to the field perimeter could fall under the jurisdiction of <S1>.

Alright thanks :slight_smile:

You’re welcome!