Answered: Clarification on <SG7> and <G12>

Note: This is a translated question being posted on behalf of a VEX [team / student / event partner] in China.

As per <SG7> “two robots on the same alliance may not work in tandem to block access to portions of the field.”
In following picture, only one robot of blue alliance intentionally or unintentionally tip over and block the access to red goal zones, does the robot violate <SG7>? If not, does the robot violate <G12>?

It’s difficult to issue a blanket ruling based on a snapshot of an entire match. A number of factors would need to be taken into account by the head referee, such as:

  • If the tip was the result of defensive or offensive interaction with opposing Robots. As quoted in <G12>, “In the case where referees are forced to make a judgment call on interaction between a defensive and offensive Robot, the referees will err on the side of the offensive Robot.”
  • If the tip was Match Affecting, and if so, which Alliance the tip was Match Affecting for.
  • If either of the teams in question had been warned about this situation previously (either as a particularly tip-prone robot, or a particularly aggressive opponent).

We would advise the head referee in this situation to reference <G12> and <G13>.

Also, please take note of this Q&A - if the Blue Robot is wider than 36” when tipped and the referees determine that the block was Match Affecting, then <SG14> would apply.

<SG7> does not apply in this case, since only one robot is blocking access to the Zones.