Answered: Clarification on <SG9>

Hi,

I’m posting for clarification on the below mentioned.

<SG9> Robots may not intentionally grasp, grapple or attach to any Field Elements. Strategies with mechanisms that react against multiple sides of a field element in an effort to latch onto said field element are prohibited. (See figures 8-10) The intent of this rule is to prevent teams from both unintentionally damaging the field, and from anchoring themselves to the field. Violations of this rule will result in a Disqualification.

Based on the attached image, my robot will be moving underneath the trough and scoring the trough through the scoop attached (Fig 2.). Question is, will we be penalised under <SG9>? Please note that we have no intentions to damage the field, aligning our robot using the trough, nor anchor our robot on any part of the game elements. Upon throwing the sacks, our robot’s arm will return to the original position shown in Fig 1.

Please advise.
sg9.jpg

Thank you for your detailed question. What you have described and depicted would not violate <SG9>. This is both a legal design and strategy.

Thank you very much Karthik.

You’re welcome!