Answered: Climbing Zone Clarification

“High Elevated

A Robot is High Elevated if all of the following criteria are met:
1.It is touching the other Robot on its Alliance
2.The Robot that it is touching (see criteria #1), is entirely within the Climbing Zone
3.It is not touching any Field Elements
4.The entire Robot is completely above the plane parallel to the foam field tiles,formed by the top of the field perimeter.Touching the field perimeter negates a High Elevation”

and

“If a Robot has expanded beyond its 18”x18”x18” size limitation and is outside the Climbing Zone it is responsible for any type of Entanglement that occurs with an opponent. If an expanded Robot becomes Entangled while fully within its Climbing Zone, its opponent would be responsible.”

These rules from the manual describe how the robot being elevated has to be entirely withing the climbing zone and how you have to be within the 18x18x18 size limit when not elevation, but I don’t see anything that clears up if it is legal for the robot doing the lifting to expand outside of the climbing zone while lifting. For example, if you had a ramp that extended outside of the climbing zone but the majority of the robot is in the climbing zone.

If somebody could answer this that would be great. Thanks!

As you quoted above:

“2.The Robot that it is touching (see criteria #1), is entirely within the Climbing Zone”

Thus, the “elevating” Robot must be completely within the Climbing Zone.