Answered: Confusion on R1

Your answer on this post has caused some confusion for a couple of reasons and I am looking for some clarification.

The first bit of confusion comes from your answer here with emphasis added:

“VEX Robotics Competition Nothing But Net Game Manual <R1> Only one (1) robot will be allowed to compete per team in the VEX Robotics Competition.”

Do the rules from Nothing But Net carry forward? I am new to Vex and want to know if I need to download the Nothing But Net game manual.

The second bit of confusion comes from your explanation.

“The intent here is not to prevent teams from upgrading or changing their own robots. The intent is to prevent one Robot being used to compete for multiple teams.”

I watched several tournaments last year during the Nothing But Net season and noticed that some teams actually changed the entire robot from one tournament to the next including subsystem 1 and subsystem 2. From the wording of the rule referenced in this year’s game copied below it would seem apparent that either “the VEX Robotics Competition” is talking about a single tournament rather than the whole season meaning that a team cannot completely change system 1 or system 2 during the season once they competed in any tournament. If it is the former, then I really cannot see any way a person can conclude from this rule that a robot cannot be used by two different teams as long as they are at different tournaments. If it is the latter, the rule still does not make that clear, but it would make it clear that once a team uses a robot in one tournament, they cannot completely swap out to a different system 1 or system 2 in future tournaments.

Can you please give some clarity on this?