Answered: Deattaching parts?

<G10> States:
"Robots may not intentionally detach parts during any Match, or leave mechanisms on the field. If
an intentionally detached component or mechanism affects game play the team shall be Disqualified at
the referee’s discretion. Multiple intentional infractions may result in Disqualification for the entire
competition. "

However, I was wondering what constitutes deattachment. If part of a robot was to only be attached by say, a rope from the winch and pulley kit, would this be considered to be against <G10>? Would the object be considered “deattached”?

Also, If a robot trailed a rope behind it from the start of the game, and the rope remained on the alliance starting tile, would the robot be considered to be touching the tile, and also considered to have never left the tile? Is this legal?

Im just asking this because I want an official statement so no one can pull any dirty tactics on us like capping goals or match loading off the starting tile or something.

Thanks,
2941

For the purposes of this rule, “Detached” means no longer in contact with. If an object is connected via a rope, it would still be in contact, thus it would not be considered detached. Thus it would be legal.

However, any type device of only connected by a long piece of rope (or something similar, e.g. a chain of zip ties, pwm cables) would be considered an entanglement risk and would be in violation of <R3c> of the VEX Gateway Game Manual. I’ve quoted the applicable rule below.