Okay I thought of something that feels like it is illegal, but I can’t find any rules it breaks, so for curiosity’s sake, I thought I would ask (don’t feel you need to answer questions made irrelevant by earlier rulings in this post). First off, it is my understanding that if a robot were to have a hook for hanging connected to the robot both by velcro and rope, the robot could partially detach the hook, and then winch up to hang without violating <G10>.
I do know however, that you have clarified previously that being attached by a rope is not always permitted, particularly if there is risk of entanglement (aka tying your robot to a part left of the field to park in Sack Attack.
However, as you mentioned in one of the referee training videos, teams should know to clear out of opponent’s hanging zone, so I am assuming that this would not be a risk of entanglement. If this is not a risk on entanglement, would the ruling change if the rope were slack, or if the rope touched the ground?
Assuming that all of that is legal, I will move on to what I really wanted to ask (for the record, my robot should be able to high hang, I am just curious). In a previous Q&A you ruled that a robot can be supported by a ball, so I was wondering if a robot could be supported by the bump (possibly in addition to a ball) and count as low hanging.
If all previous questions are true, would the following maneuver be legal/counted as a hang: First, extend a hook to the hanging bar and partially detach it. Second, while holding a large ball, drive onto the the bump so the back wheels are on the bump and lower an arm onto a buckyballs so that no other portions of the robot or large ball are touching the tiles.
The robot would naturally be reasonably precarious, and could thus be easily knocked off its perch by an opposing robot. If an opponent did egregiously stop a robot from performing such a maneuver by pushing them while the partly detached hook was on the hanging bar, would the robot be disqualified? If the opponent were to indirectly knock a bump hanging robot off their perch by pushing or catapulting a scoring object, would they be disqualified?
I know this all seems wrong, and I don’t intend to do it, but I don’t know why. Could this be a rare instance of G1?