Answered: Driver Control / Skills Loads & Tether Bots

Would it be legal for a Robot that is positioned by the Fence but touching their Alliance Station Alliance Starting Tile via a legal tether, to introduce a Driver Control Load or Skills Load by placing it on said Robot and having it roll directly over the Fence into the opposite Scoring Zone?

1 Like

No, this is not legal. Let’s take a look at the pertinent rule. I’ve bolded some text for emphasis.

As you can see by the bolded text, it is illegal to impart energy to cause the Scoring Objects to end up in a position outside the Alliance Starting Tile. Rolling the Scoring Objects off the Robot and across the fence would violate this portion of the rule.

Simply put, we want Robots scoring these objects, not humans.

To be crystal clear on this one, we’re not concerned about Scoring Objects bouncing off of Robots and landing on your own side of the fence. This will not be called as a rules violation as it is minor and inconsequential. We are concerned about Scoring Objects bouncing off of Robots and landing on the other side of the Fence. This will be called a violation and deemed an illegal load.