Answered: Easy preload scoring

If allowed preloads began a match within the 30" goal nearest the Isolation starting tile, but not touching it, and were touching a robot that did not touch the goal, would the preloaded objects be considered scored as soon as the robot drove away?

This would not be a legal position for a Preload. Let’s take a look at the game manual and the applicable rule. I’ve bolded some text for emphasis.

What this means is that you cannot Preload any Scoring Objects such that they are in a scored position. The scenario that you’ve described involves doing this, thus it is illegal.

Alright, thanks! We were just curious; our robot is far too bulky to implement this sort of strategy, but since we used the cheap score preload on the wall goal in Round Up last year we wondered if it was legal in Gateway as well.

You’re welcome!