It’s been stated that rigid expansion devices would be legal as they do not pose a risk of entanglement.
If a robot were to split into two separate robots, would a flexible-but-sturdy link between the two robots be legal? For example, a tether of c-channels bolted together, between the two segments of the robot? Such a device wouldn’t drag along the ground or flex enough to become caught on an opposing robot, but would be flexible enough to allow the two segments of the split robot to move independently of each other.
Karthik
October 12, 2012, 9:37am
#2
It’s been stated that rigid expansion devices would be legal as they do not pose a risk of entanglement.
If a robot were to split into two separate robots, would a flexible-but-sturdy link between the two robots be legal? For example, a tether of c-channels bolted together, between the two segments of the robot? Such a device wouldn’t drag along the ground or flex enough to become caught on an opposing robot, but would be flexible enough to allow the two segments of the split robot to move independently of each other.
From what is described, this appears to be legal. However, any strategies featuring expanding robots may be affected by <G11a>.
VEX Sack Attack Game Manual:
<G11> Strategies aimed solely at the destruction, damage, tipping over, or Entanglement of Robots are not part of the ethos of the VEX Robotics Competition and are not allowed. However, VEX Sack Attack is an interactive game. Some incidental tipping, Entanglement, and damage may occur as a part of normal game play. If the tipping, Entanglement, or damage is ruled to be intentional or egregious, the offending team may be disqualified from that Match. Repeated offenses could result in a team being Disqualified from the remainder of the competition.
VEX Sack Attack is intended to be an offensive game. Teams that partake in solely defensive strategies will undergo extra scrutiny in regards to <G11>. In the case where referees are forced to make a judgment call on interaction between a defensive and offensive Robot, the referees will err on the side of the offensive Robot.
**a. Robots which have expanded horizontally in an effort to obstruct the field will undergo even more scrutiny under <G11>, and will not be protected under <G11>. e.g. If you choose to undertake this type of strategy, your robot should be built to withstand vigorous interaction.
i. Furthermore, teams that undertake this type of obstructive strategy would not be protected by <SG3>. e.g. There is no penalty for pinning a “wall-bot”
**
All teams are responsible for the actions of their Robots. This goes for teams who are driving recklessly and potentially causing damage, but also goes for teams who drive around with a small wheel base and arm extended. Teams should design their Robots such that they are not tipped over or damaged by minor contact.