Answered: Expansion outside the climbing zone

At a competition this weekend one of the robots had a battery come loose and drag the ground (like a tail) while the drove around the field. 2 questions related to this…

  1. does something coming lose on a robot constitute expansion (if it extends beyond the 18 inches)?
  2. what should a team do if this occurs (ie are they required to return to the climbing zone)?

It seems like we cannot reply one answered, so I’ll thank you in advance for your consideration.


The purpose of this forum is to give answers and clarifications on rules questions. We cannot offer strategic advice on what a team should do after committing a rules violation.