Answered: Fence Questions

Iv’e been digging through the vex forums and can’t seem to find the answers to any of these questions.

  1. How far can a robot go over or under the fence?
  2. How far must a star be on the other side to be counted as a point?
  3. If a robot is holding a star onto the other side and doesn’t drop it after the match ends, whose point is it?

The answers to all your questions can actually be found in the VEX Robotics Comeptition Starstruck Game Manual.

Rule <SG6> deals with these situations.

So, you can reach over to the other side, but you cannot make contact with the tiles in the Zones on the other side of the field.

The definition of Scored and Zones answer this question.

So as long as the Star is touching a Zone, it will count as being Scored. The Zones start at the white tape line at the edge of the base of the Fence.

As shown above in the definition of Scored, if a Scoring Object is Supported by a Robot, it scores in the Zone that the Robot is contacting.