Answered: Field reset... Rings scored to start?

Scored – A Ring is Scored if it is not touching a Robot and meets one of the following criteria:

  1. The Ring is contacting the Floor Goal
  2. Any part of a Post is within the volume defined by the outer edges of the Ring (i.e. part of the Ring is encircling or surrounding the Post)

Floor Goal – The section of the Floor bounded by the inner edges of the field perimeter and the black line which runs the entire length of the field and passes under the support structures of the Posts. The black line and the support structures of the Posts are part of the Floor Goal.

Seven rings on the floor are contacting the support structure of the post to start. I assume that we don’t want those to count as they are but seems like the rules allow it as written. Thoughts?

You are correct - seven Rings begin the match in positions that would be considered Scored in the Floor Goal.

Update - the definition of Floor Goal was modified in the August 17th manual update to state the following:

Floor Goal - The section of the Floor bounded by the inner edges of the field perimeter and the black line which runs the entire length of the field and passes under the support structures of the Posts. The black line is part of the Floor Goal.

The support structures are no longer considered part of the Floor Goal. Thus, no Rings begin the match Scored in the Floor Goal.