Answered: Further Clarification on Notes 1 and 2 of Scored

According to criterion 1, note (a), of the definition of Scored:

In the Q&A thread “Answered: Multiple goals in the 20 point zone”, it was stated:

And if the mobile goal with the fewest cones was touching only the 20 Point Zone, the thread confirmed that it “would not earn any Zone points.”

Later, in this thread, answered on July 21, it was stated:

Am I correct that in this quote, the phrase “only one of these goals would be worth points” is referring to the situation in the photo (in which the second goal, which has no cones, is touching only the 20-point zone), and that the earlier ruling still applies?

Am I also correct that the phrase “higher point value Goal Zone” in the definition of Scored (and “highest value Scoring Zone” in Note 3) refers to the Goal Zone that would give the highest number of points to the Mobile Goal in question (e.g. 10 points as opposed to zero), and not to the Goal Zone that has the highest point value in general (e.g. the 20 Point Zone as opposed to the 10 Point Zone)?

Finally, any time multiple mobile goals are in a Scored position in the 20 point zone, is the following true?

  1. The mobile goal with the most Stacked cones is counted as Scored in the 20 point zone.
  2. If a mobile goal is already Scored in the 20 point zone, any other mobile goals that are touching both the 10 and 20 point zones are Scored in the 10 point zone, and any other mobile goals that are touching both the 5 and 20 point zones, but are not touching the 10 point zone, are Scored in the 5 point zone.
  3. If a mobile goal is already Scored in the 20 point zone, any other mobile goals that are touching only the 20-point zone (and no other zones) are not Scored at all.

Thank you so much for your time and effort!

Yes, this is correct.

Yes, this is the implication of the rare case covered by the Q&A you have referenced (link).

Yes, these are all correct, including the hypothetical and seemingly unlikely scenario where you have a Mobile Goal scored in both the 5 and 20 point zones simultaneously.

You’re welcome!