Answered: G1 clarification

The 18" rule states that:
<G1> At the beginning of a match, each robot must not exceed a volume of 18 inches wide by 18 inches long by 18 inches tall. An offending robot will be removed from the match at the

Does this mean that a robot can be in contact with the side of the sizing box, if only slightly? Or is this up to the “Head Referee’s discretion?”

Maybe found it…

<I04> The maximum size of the robot for starting a Qualifying or Elimination Match is 18 inches (45.72cm)
wide by 18 inches (45.72cm) long by 18 inches (45.72cm) high. The robot must fit within a Robot Sizing Box
without touching the sides or top of the Robot Sizing Box. The robot must be self-supporting while in the
Robot Sizing Box.

Just to make it clear as mud, if a robot were to be equipped with a scoop and this scoop were to lean slightly on the side of the box during sizing (though if one were to push it it would retract to an acceptable size)…

Basically, how stringent is this “touching” business?

Robots may not touch the sides or top of the Robot Sizing Box. Any contact would not be acceptable.