This happened at our last tournament.
Robot A drives into the side of Robot B in the middle of the field.
Robot B is not against any field element but cannot drive forward or backward and cannot turn because Robot A is against the side of Robot B.
Robot B tries to move and the effort torques the drive motor(s) on Robot B.
Is Robot A in violation of <G11> ??
Karthik
January 28, 2014, 11:45am
2
This happened at our last tournament.
Robot A drives into the side of Robot B in the middle of the field.
Robot B is not against any field element but cannot drive forward or backward and cannot turn because Robot A is against the side of Robot B.
Robot B tries to move and the effort torques the drive motor(s) on Robot B.
Is Robot A in violation of <G11> ??
We cannot provide blanket rulings on mere snapshots of Match situations. However based on what you have described, this appeared to be a case accidental entanglement, which is not punishable by <G11>.
<G11> Strategies aimed solely at the destruction, damage, tipping over, or Entanglement of Robots are not part of the ethos of the VEX Robotics Competition and are not allowed. However, VEX Toss Up is an interactive game. Some incidental tipping, Entanglement, and damage may occur as a part of normal game play. If the tipping, Entanglement, or damage is ruled to be intentional or egregious, the offending team may be disqualified from that Match. Repeated offenses could result in a team being Disqualified from the remainder of the competition.